Posted by: Nerdboy777 | March 27, 2008

Adam – Ted Dekker

Earlier this week I received my copy of Ted Dekker’s new book Adam.  If you don’t know what it’s about then here is a link to it on Amazon with a description.

http://www.amazon.com/Adam-Ted-Dekker/dp/1595540075/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1206645271&sr=8-1

Well I finished it last night and while I’m a newer fan of his work (I plan on catching up on all his novels this year) I’ve got to say it’s one of my favorites of his.  Of course I’ve only read 3-4 of his so that may not mean much.

Anyways I’m not here to do a book review.  I’m not going to spoil anything but actually want to just make a brief comment about a quote that was put on the back pamphlet of the book.  It reads:

“The detail is stunning, pointing to meticulous research in FBI methods, forensic medicine, and psychological profiling.  We have to keep telling ourselves that this is fiction.  At the same time, we can’t help thinking that not only could it happen, but that it will happen if we’re not careful.”   –   David M. Kiely and Christina McKenna authors of The Dark Sacrament

The book focuses on demonic possession.  And as I read what I just posted above I thought to myself.  They’re right.  I mean there has been cases about demon possession and some can be easily cast aside as bogus but others have to be seriously looked into.

And I think what really sparked my interest with this book was that this was not just another book that had a villain that just didn’t seem real.  While this does.  I’m no expert with demon possession or anything (and on that matter I wouldn’t want to be.  I probably wouldn’t be able to handle watching an exorcism take place.) but I know that this is something that has happened and will happen again.  We’re warned in the Bible that Satan’s minions are all around us.  Waiting.  And what I liked about Adam was that it showed just how worried we should be about demonic possession and the sort.

Not to mention it’s really got me interested to learn more about real life cases and the effects that it’s had on people.  Throughout the book there are references to another book called.   Hostage to the Devil: The Possession and Exorcism of Five Contemporary Americans.  References were made to the book and to the author and I didn’t think it was real but turns out it is.  Which makes me want to read that book now.

And lastly I’m left with this as I finished that book last night.  I really truly am happy to know that Satan loses in the end.  


Responses

  1. I’ve read the book you’re referring to: Hostage to the Devil, written by Father Malachi Martin. It is an excellent piece of literary work, and quite frightening too. While reading this book, Father Martin gives you good insight on the way inhuman spirits work, how they think, and how we as human beings are vulnerable. I encourage you to read this book. It’s the truth.

    Also, you can hear some interviews conducted with Father Malachi Martin in youtube. Just type in “Malachi Martin” and you’ll get several hits of interviews with the priest. Very interesting stuff!

  2. Hey thanks for the info! I’ll have to look him up on youtube.

  3. Exorcism. Download 4 documentary films for free. Healer, exorcist Nikolay Dolgorukiy (Zaporozhye, Ukraine)
    http://www.exorcism-nd.narod.ru/

  4. я думаю: спасибо..


Leave a comment

Categories