Posted by: Nerdboy777 | April 19, 2008

Cheerios

It’s been a long time hasn’t it?  Well anyways I’ll do my best to post more regularly.  So I’ve now entered the final quarter in my junior year and I’ve began Teacher Assisting.  Which is a class called service learning at my school.  Basically you help grade papers other stuff like that to help out which ever teacher your helping.

Yesterday instead of grading papers I helped put 500 Cheerios in 30+ Ziplock baggies.  So you must be wondering why?  The teacher I’m helping is a youth pastor and his church last night had a 30 hour famine.  So what are the Cheerios for?

According to what he had said some 15,000 children 5 and under die from starvation a year.  The youth at his church will use 30 of the bags and put each Cheerio on a string and stretch it out to see just how much 15,000 is.

I personally think this is really cool.  I mean after counting out all the Cheerios for what took about an hour and a half I told some of my friends I’ve never seen that many Cheerios in my life.  And then I thought, “If this is 15,000 Cheerios then I don’t want to imagine how much 15,000 of the children that die of starvation is.

Years ago when my dad was a youth pastor our church did a 30 hour famine but I didn’t have a chance to do it.  Now after all those Cheerios two things have happened.  I’ll never look at Cheerios the same again and I really want to participate in a 30 hour famine one day.

So any of you ever done a 30 hour famine before?  What was it like?  Anyone got any good Cheerio stories? 😀


Leave a comment

Categories