Posted by: Nerdboy777 | June 3, 2008

Words

“Words not only affect us temporarily; they change us, they socialize or unsocialize us.” — David Riesman

A couple of days ago I had a couple of people compliment me or say something about me which anyone else who heard it wouldn’t have thought twice about the effect.  You see just as in the quote above words can change your life.  Whether they are good or bad they will effect you.  One particular comment someone shared with me last Sunday has greatly upped my spirit and changed how I view myself.  In short I was told that I had become the type of person that I wanted to be.  And the thing is no one else thought much of it.

You see when you compliment someone or say something bad about someone you may not realize just how much that effects that person.  I believe that in many cases words can have a larger effect than actions and that in itself is amazing.  I’ve witnessed words tear someone apart to the brink of suicide.  And I’ve seen words bring joy instead of tears.

I see it everyday in fact.  I think way too often do we take our own words for granted.  We don’t realize just what we are saying and how it’s going to effect the person we direct those words too.

And jokes are good just as well.  Laughter, after all, is something that everyone needs.  Yet at the same time so few of us know where to draw the line on jokes and insults.  And I won’t take my self out of this one either.  I mean it’s very easy to point out flaws in others, almost too easy.  It seems to me that I see way too many people simply looking for something wrong in someone just so that they can point it out to their group of friends and get a few laughs.

And so I bring up that quote above again.  Words, no matter what they are or who said it, will change you.  They will make you feel better.  And they will keep you up at night as you try to find a way to become better looking, skinnier, smarter, funnier or just a better person.

So my challenge to MYSELF and all who ever come across this.  Consider your words.  Choose your jokes wisely and think.  I saw first hand this past week just how two very small comments made about me not only made this a very good week but also changed me.  And it also made me feel good that that was they thought of me.  And you all know it to be true.  When someone compliments you it does make you feel good (and maybe even a little big headed).

Also feel free to share how someones words has changed you in this past week.  😀


Leave a comment

Categories